Key Points

108 Names Of Lord Krishna: Discover The Divine Essence

Lord Krishna, one of the most worshipped deities in Hinduism, is known by many names that reflect his numerous attributes and qualities. The 108 Names of Lord Krishna is a sacred collection of names that celebrate the divine essence of this beloved deity. Each name represents a unique aspect of Lord Krishna's personality, character, and power, and reflects the infinite nature of his divine presence.

These names hold immense significance and are chanted by devotees during religious ceremonies, festivals, and other auspicious occasions. They offer a deep insight into the nature of Lord Krishna and provide a means for devotees to connect with him more intimately.

In this article, we will explore the significance of the 108 Names of Lord Krishna and the nuances of each name, to help you discover the divine essence of this revered deity. Let’s begin this journey of self-discovery and connect with the divine essence of Lord Krishna.

108 Names Of Lord Krishna
108 Names Of Lord Krishna


🔖 Topic Of Contents:

  1. Introduction
  2. 108 names of Lord Krishna with meaning
  3. Significance of chanting the 108 names
  4. Conclusion


108 names of Lord Krishna with meaning

  1. Krishna - Dark-complexioned Lord, a symbol of Love and Devotion
  2. Govinda - One who gives pleasure to the cows
  3. Gopala - Protector of the cows
  4. Madhusudhana - Slayer of the demon Madhu
  5. Murari - Slayer of the demon Mura
  6. Nanda-Nandana - Son of Nanda Maharaja
  7. Yasodanandana - Son of Yasoda
  8. Mukunda - One who grants liberation
  9. Kanhaiya - Beloved of the Gopis
  10. Gokula - Lord of the Cowherd Community
  11. Radhakrishna - Joint name of Krishna and Radha
  12. Mahendra - Lord of Indra
  13. Dwarkadhish - Lord of Dwarka
  14. Keshava - One with beautiful hair
  15. Vasudeva - Son of Vasudeva
  16. Damodara - One whose belly is tied with a rope
  17. Syamasundara - Handsome Dark Lord
  18. Hari - One who removes sins
  19. Jagannatha - Lord of the universe
  20. Shyam - Dark
  21. Chakradhari - One who holds the Sudarshana Chakra
  22. Janardhana - One who destroys evil
  23. Narakantaka - Slayer of the demon Narakasura
  24. Radha-Vallabh - Lover and beloved of Radha
  25. Mathuranath - Lord of Mathura
  26. Gopinatha - Lord of the Gopis
  27. Giridhari - One who lifted Govardhana Hill
  28. Mohan - One who enchants
  29. Madanmohan - One who charms even Cupid
  30. Kaliya-Mardana - Slayer of the serpent Kaliya
  31. Muralidhara - One who holds the flute
  32. Navanita - Chora - Stealer of butter
  33. Navanitahara - Eater of butter
  34. Purna-Purushottama - Perfect Person among men
  35. Purushottama - Supreme among Men
  36. Ranchor - One who fled from battle
  37. Sridhara - Possessor of Lakshmi
  38. Tribhuvaneshwara - Lord of the three worlds
  39. Upendra - Younger brother of Indra
  40. Vaikunthanatha - Lord of Vaikuntha
  41. Vamsidhari - One who holds the bamboo flute
  42. Vishnu - All-pervading
  43. Yogi - One who practices Yoga
  44. Aditya - One who shines like the sun
  45. Ananta - Endless
  46. Aniruddha - One who cannot be obstructed
  47. Bhagawan - Supreme Lord
  48. Brajeshwara - Lord of Braj
  49. Chaturbhuj - One who has four arms
  50. Dayanidhi - Treasure of Compassion
  51. Devakinandan - Son of Devaki
  52. Gajendra-Moksha - Savior of the elephant Gajendra
  53. Hrishikesha - Master of the senses
  54. Jaganmohan - One who amazes the world
  55. Jai Kishan - Victory to Lord Krishna
  56. Jaya Govinda - Victory to Govindha
  57. Kamalanayana - Lotus-eyed
  58. Kamalapati - Lord of Lakshmi
  59. Kamsantaka - Slayer of Kamsa
  60. Keshav - One who kills Keshi demon
  61. Leela-Manohar - Enchanter of all
  62. Lokanatha - Lord of all worlds
  63. Makhanchor - One who steals the sacrificial butter
  64. Manohara - Stealer of hearts
  65. Mohanlal - Beloved of all
  66. Muralimanohar - One who enchants with his flute
  67. Murliwala - One who carries the flute
  68. Nandakishor - Child of Nanda
  69. Parthasarathy - Charioteer of Arjuna
  70. Pitambara - One who wears yellow clothes
  71. Prabhu - Master of everything
  72. Radheshyam - Lord of Radha
  73. Rajnivas - One who resides in a palace
  74. Sarveshwara - Lord of all
  75. Shaligram - Name of a black stone
  76. Shrihari - Provider of prosperity
  77. Sudarshan - One who has a beautiful vision
  78. Sundar - Beautiful
  79. Suryanarayan - One who shines like the sun
  80. Swaminatha - Lord of the Lord of the universe
  81. Trilokpati - Lord of the three worlds
  82. Uddhava - Friend of Krishna
  83. Vamana - Dwarf incarnation of Lord Vishnu
  84. Varshneya - Descendant of Vrishni
  85. Venuvadan - One who plays the flute
  86. Vidhur - Friend of Vidura
  87. Vidurathu - Friend of Vidura
  88. Vrajapati - Lord of Vraja
  89. Vrishabhanu-nandini - Daughter of King Vrishabhanu
  90. Yogi-Shwara - Lord of Yogis
  91. Bhaktavatsala - One who loves his devotees
  92. Bhuvaneshwara - Lord of the Universe
  93. Chanchal - Fickle-minded
  94. Chintamani - Jewel that fulfills all desires
  95. Dayalu - Merciful
  96. Gyaneshwara - Lord of knowledge
  97. Hamsi - One who takes the form of a swan
  98. Hrshikesh - Lord of the senses or senses of the Lord
  99. Jagadguru - Preceptor of the universe
  100. Jagannivasa - One who takes shelter in the universe
  101. Jalajaksha - Lotus-eyed
  102. Janaki Raman - Husband of Sita
  103. Kamsari - Enemy of Kamsa
  104. Kamsavairi - Slayer of Kamsa
  105. Kishan - Dark Lord
  106. Kripalu - Merciful
  107. Manmohan - One who attracts the heart
  108. Nityananda - Eternal bliss


Significance of chanting the 108 names

According to Hindu mythology, chanting the 108 names of Lord Krishna is considered auspicious and is believed to bring blessings and benefits to the devotee. The number 108 is significant in Hinduism, as it is believed to represent the universe's wholeness, and hence, chanting Lord Krishna's name 108 times is considered to help connect with his divine energy and attain spiritual purity and enlightenment.

Additionally, each name of Lord Krishna signifies a different aspect of his personality, and chanting the 108 names is said to invoke these qualities, such as knowledge, courage, kindness, and prosperity, among others. It is often practiced during spiritual gatherings, festivals, or personal prayer time as a way to connect with the divine and seek spiritual growth.



By learning and understanding the 108 names of Lord Krishna, one can gain a deeper understanding of Krishna's divine essence. Each of the names represents a unique aspect of his personality and qualities that individuals can meditate upon to deepen their spiritual connection with him.

By contemplating upon and chanting these names, believers can harness the underlying power of Krishna and integrate his virtues into their lives. Consistent devotion towards Lord Krishna and his 108 Names can help individuals attain inner peace, spiritual growth, and ultimately enlightenment.

If you found this article useful, do share this knowledge with others to help spread the divine essence of Lord Krishna to those seeking spiritual guidance.


Read More: